Fun Times

Another great summer weekend has wrapped up!  I’m so sad that summer is winding down and the warm weather will soon be gone.  Living in Connecticut means that it can be 85 degrees this weekend and 55 by the next!  So we will continue to enjoy every moment of it until it’s gone and we are stuck indoors again.

Friday we went to a gender reveal party, this is the 1st I’ve ever been to and it was lots of fun.  The revealing family already have two children, a boy and a girl and did not know what the gender was.   The reveal was done with cupcakes and balloons .  All of the adults went outside with a cupcake while the kids stayed inside with the box of balloons.  As the kids opened the box and blue balloons flew out all of the adults bit into their cupcakes and Corinne had the reveal one!  Yeah, it’s a Boy!  This concept is so cute and it was so much fun to be a part of this!  The happy family is very excited and tossing around some really cute names.

Saturday Josh had a tournament in Boston so he was gone all day!  The girls and I went to my Godson’s 1st Pop Warner Football Game and a 1st birthday party.  The 3 Amigos were in full effect!  The football game was really cute, he’s only 9, so it was like a bunch of bobble heads chasing a ball around the field!  They didn’t do so hot this week and the score was not in their favor.  I’m sure Monday’s practice is going to be a little rough for them and filled with extra push ups and drills!  The girls had a blast at the birthday party.  There was a Bounce House and the majority of the kids were Corinne’s age which means there were no big kids knocking her over, she’s tough but still only 2.  By the time we left the party both girls had a thick layer of dirt and frosting and headed straight for the bath tub.

The Hubs rocked his tournament and brought home 2 gold medals!  Double Gold baby!  You have to applaud his dedication to a sport that he loves.  The ongoing joke in this house is that Jui Jitsu is the Other Woman.  At times she really fusses about not being 1st, but we do our best to make it work.  By the time I put the girls down Saturday night I was exhausted!  It’s funny how quick we adapt to changes.  I used to have long days like this all the time and it was no big deal, now that I’m not used to it anymore it kicked my butt.  I was sweetly rewarded with sleeping in Sunday morning!  Mind you I was up at 6:30 to nurse McKenzie but after that I passed out and slept until 8:45!  I am super thankful to Josh for this precious gift.  Sunday morning we went to the Farmer’s Market and stocked up on fruits and veggies for the week.  It’s amazing how much we get and the amount of money we save.  Not to mention the fact that we’re supporting local Farmer’s and getting better quality produce.  Most of Sunday was pretty uneventful until our dogs got sprayed yet again by a skunk!  Josh took the dogs and the garbage out around 9:30, the skunk must have been in the dumpster and not happy to see Roxy and Bella.  When I say they smell horrible, it is the understatement of the year!  We have to do something about our little friend and soon!

So all in all we had a great weekend. Tomorrow is the 1st day of school in our town.  I’m such a sap that I cry every year on the 1st day of school when I watch all the kids get on the bus.  Can I just say that I am so thankful neither Corinne or McKenzie are starting school tomorrow!  I am not ready to share them or spend an entire day without them 5 days a week.  This week we’re signing Corinne up for Dance and Gymnastics classes!  This will be the first thing she does by herself as they are not Mommy and Me classes.  I think I am way more excited then she is and will probably cry while I sign the papers!

8 thoughts on “Fun Times

  1. Sounds like you had a crazy fun weekend! School doesn’t start until next weekend here in Canada…I’m thankful that I will still have a baby in the house. 😮
    Have a great week!

  2. The gender reveal party does sound fun, I haven’t heard of such a thing, but I bet it’ll be trendy (if it isn’t already!).
    Congrats to your hubby!
    Sorry about the skunk…ew

  3. Congratulations to your husband!!! And practice now, Mommy, because the tears aren’t all that welcome when they go to college. You have to hold them (most anyway) in for the drive home. Just sent #1 this year (and we were both ready!)

Leave a Reply

