Paleo Brownie Cupcakes

 

 

Here is the recipe that I used for the paleo brownie cupcakes with chocolate frosting.  Again, the brownie recipe is from BakerGal and the frosting is Elana’s Pantry.  The below recipes include the changes that I made.  The brownies had great flavor but were a little too dense for us.  I think that I will add 1 more egg next time and bake them in a pan next time instead of cupcake liners.  The frosting was extremely rich (great for chocolate lovers) and had a consistency more like a ganache.  I’m still pondering what to do with this one?

Brownie

1 cup raw light agave syrup

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 cup almond butter

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 egg

1. Gently heat agave syrup over stove, DO NOT boil.  Stir in cocoa powder until smooth and remove from heat.

2. Whisk 1 egg with vanilla and baking powder in a seperate bowl.

3. Stir in remaining ingredients, except salt, until thoroughly mixed.

4. Sprinkle salt and fold into batter.

Bake at 325 degrees.  I did 25 minutes, if I do cupcakes again I will do 23, if I put them in a pan around 30.  This reciped only yielded 6 cupcakes, if baking in a pan I would recommend a 9×9.

 

Chocolate Frosting (ganache)

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 tbsp vanilla

dash of sea salt

2-3 tbsp Coconut milk

1. Melt chocolate chips and coconut oil in a small sauce pan over the stove.  Heat slowly and DO NOT boil!

2. Stir in vanilla and salt.

3. Remove from heat and transfer to a medium sized bowl.  Refridgerate for 15-20 minutes or until thickened.

4. Reove from refridgerator and whip with a hand mixer while adding coconut milk.

The recipe I was following stated that the miture would become thick and fluffy from beating.  I could not get it to, I’m thinking I may have left it in the refridgerator too long though.

All in all I was pleased with the outcome!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Paleo Brownie Cupcakes

  1. Yummy! I could totally pop a whole one in my mouth right now. I think I told you this last time but I love your blog name.

Leave a Reply

