Still Birth Day

When I began this blog last spring my goal was to write about my family, how the girls and I spend our days, my Doula work, and whatever other randomness I decided to throw in there.  I have to be honest that I didn’t give much thought to privacy and what boundaries, if any, I would set beforehand.  So far I have shared most of what goes on in our lives, without much censorship.  I hate to disappoint people but there isn’t much going on over here that you don’t know about!  There are some things that have happened in the past that I haven’t blogged about and I may never share in detail.  I have thought about sharing a few times but it has always seemed so inorganic because it didn’t have any relevance to what has been going on in my life.  Until recently.

As of early last week I began the pursuit of a second Doula certification through a wonderful organization Still Birth Day.  This is a phenomenal organization that is healing the hearts of many worldwide.  Still Birth Day is a resource for parents and families that have, or are dealing with a pregnancy loss.  They have resources for all stages and types of pregnancy losses including neonatal deaths.  The certification training that I am attending is to be a Bereavement Doula.  My services will include supporting woman through miscarriages, stillborn deliveries and neonatal losses in a wide range of settings.  Support can be words of encouragement, aid in finding resources, telephone support, being present during the various processes and emotional support during their mourning.   Years back Josh and I dealt with a late pregnancy loss so this all hits very close to home for me.  Our experience is not something that I tend to talk about for a few reasons.  Firstly the emotions are still very fresh for me, although it has been three years it is still not easy to talk about.  Secondly, I do not want to scare others.  It’s not the type of story you tell other woman, especially pregnant, and scare the crap out of them.  Mostly, it is not just my story.  Maybe someday I will share our story in a more public venue but I doubt it.  When I do share our story it is to help others and provide support, not just to tell it.

If you or someone you know has dealt with or is dealing with a pregnancy loss please direct them to the Still Birth Day website.  The resources available are phenomenal, the support they provide both online and and in person is so very important.

Leave a Reply

