Read and Do’s

Last week one of my favorite ladies I follow Dani Hampton posted on her blog Sometimes Sweet how her and her son did a Read and Do.  They read a book, and than did an activity related to the story.  Super simple, yet fun for the kiddos and an opportunity to cram in some great lessons!

Last night I went through our library of books and separated at least 25 that we can easily do this with.  Some a craft, others an activity like a game or baking.

Today we were rained in, still sick with colds and itching for something to do.  I went to my new pile of books and grabbed If You Give a Moose a Muffin and headed into the kitchen.  Just my luck we happened to have blueberry muffin mix in the cabinet and all of the needed ingredients.  The three of us sat and read the book together, which of course they loved.  After we looked at the pictures and talked about the story we brought the book into the kitchen with us to make our Moose Muffins.  The girls love to bake and it is hands down one of my favorite things to do with them.

Image

My Helpers!

Image

Image

Enjoying the fruits of their labor!  We had so much fun and we are going to do this at least once a week!

Image

Today I am linking up with some other lovely Ladies who have lots of great things to say!  mbmixerbuttonidea

9 thoughts on “Read and Do’s

  1. You know, I think I’d make it a priority to read that book every day! I’ve got a serious {love} for blueberry muffins. Thank you for sharing the idea about making reading even more enjoyable. Glad to see you around this week at the mixer. Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

