An unfortunuate reminder

This morning the girls and I went to our local Barnes and Nobles for some good ole story time.  Since the girls love to read and to be read to we can make a morning of it.  After about an hour of reading and some train table time we picked out a book to take home and headed out.

5485_10200278482956678_1398070930_n

As I was walking across the parking lot with my 17 month old on one hip, my purse on the opposite shoulder, and my two year old holding my free I see a woman watching us and smiling.  As I got Corinne into her car seat I see that the woman is now standing at the end of my car waiting to talk to me.  I gave her a polite smile and proceeded to walk to McKenzie’s side.  As I am attempting to strap McKenzie into her car seat the woman now walks up to us to the point where we are shoulder to shoulder in between my car and the SUV parked next to me and is looking into my car to talk to Corinne.  At this point I am feeling extremely uncomfortable, my adrenaline is pumping, and I am frightened.  My protective Momma Bear mode kicks in and I tell this woman that she needs to back up immediately.  She smiles, apologizes and tells me the girls are beautiful and I am so blessed but is still shoulder to shoulder with me.  I again tell her that she needs to back away and to leave.  The woman then states that she works for a company that repairs auto glass and that they are doing a free safety evaluation or some junk like that.  This angers me even more because I feel like if she is telling the truth than she just scared the daylights out of me to solicit me and I HATE solicitation.  At this point the woman takes a few steps back but she is still at the end of my car and still too close for my comfort.  She then states that she is going to walk around and inspect my glass.  I told the woman to get away from my car or I was going to call 911 immediately.  After repeating it two more times she finally walked away and I quickly got into my car.

The whole ride home I could not stop thinking about what happened.  Especially since Corinne was repeatedly asking me who that woman was and what she was doing.  In my head I’m thinking if my two year old senses that something was not right than clearly her actions were out of line.  After I fed the girls lunch and put them down for a nap I called my local Police Department.  I felt like even if the woman was 100% honest about what she was doing it still was not right and something should be done.  This is where it gets scarier for me.  The Police officer I spoke with told me that I am the fourth person within a week to call with a similar story.  He told me that at this point they do not think that she works for a glass company and that how I reacted was good and safe.  I gave him all of our information and a full description of the woman. and stated that there should be more security there.

I literally hung up the phone and started crying.  My mind went to that horrible place where you imagine all of the horrible things that could have happened.  I don’t know what I would do if something traumatic ever happened to the girls.  Today was a reminder of the need to constantly be alert when in public, to be aware of your surroundings at all times, and to follow your instincts.  I can not prevent the actions of others, I can only do my best to stay safe.

So please, keep your heads up, stay off your phone unless necessary, and hold your kids tight.  And when something doesn’t feel right to you, do something.

11 thoughts on “An unfortunuate reminder

  1. That’s very bizarre. It was good of you to be on alert like that! I’ve had people come into my comfort zone while I was pumping gas to try that glass repair spiel on me. Thankfully, my kids were not with me at the time. But this sounds way beyond the normal realm of solicitation. I’m sorry you and your girls went through this!

  2. You’re right to always trust your instincts…and great advice to not be on the phone. Can you imagine if you were distracted by the phone while this happened? So glad that you are okay and safe. Wow. Def. scary.

  3. It’s great that you were able to think clearly and do the right thing to protect your girls. I think I would be too trusting but these days you just can’t trust people like you used to. I think it is also great that you called the police because it sounds like this is happening to other people and the more people who call the more likely they will put a stop to it. You did good 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Pancakes and Patience and commented:
    Since being pregnant with twins while living in New York City, I have always felt this need to protect my babies and be aware of my surroundings. Sometimes life happens and we get lost in the moment but being aware and trusting your instincts can go a long way.

Leave a Reply

