Epic Mommy Failure Moment

Yup! The title says it all. Today was my 2nd biggest Mommy Failure moment. You know what I mean right? Those moments were you can’t possibly face palm yourself hard enough!
My 1st moment was about 2 1/2 years ago. We were about 45 minutes away from home when I realized I had packed Corinne’s formula but no bottle! Since Corinne was only about 4 months at the time this was a huge problem! Oh and of course this revelation came to me as I was frantically digging through the diaper bag and Corinne is screaming her head off. So I feel like the worse Mom ever and immediately start crying, Josh who thank goodness is the yin to my yang in the situations, calms me down and drives us to a nearby Babies R Us. I run inside and by one of the ready to go formula bottles and a pack of nipples. I am in the checkout aisle literally trying to convince myself that Corinne is not going to contract some horrible disease from using an un-sterilized nipple and that the most important thing is that she eats. I get outside to the car where Josh is trying his hardest to entertain her and quickly assemble the bottle and nipple and hand it over to Josh and my starving (practically malnourished) baby and BAM! This Chick didn’t screw the nipple on all the way and the WHOLE thing dumps all over the both of them. To the point Corinne is now choking because it went up her nose! I look over at Josh and he is covered in putrid smelling formula and a baby that is screaming bloody murder. And now I am balling! I usually handle situations like this pretty well but not this time! I literally say down on the ground in the Babies R Us parking lot and cried. I vaguely remember Josh undressing Corinne and getting a 2nd bottle ready but I was too busy crying. Yup, face palm!
We’ve all had these moments right? Parenting is hard, being a Mom is even harder! We all make mistakes but when they involve and effect our children it hits us even harder. At the time I was convinced I was like the worse Mom ever and I was doomed to fail. Now, I can’t stop laughing at myself while I am typing this!
Well fast forward 2 1/2 years and I almost topped myself! What did I do your wondering? Stop by tomorrow to find out!

20130523-150345.jpg

3 thoughts on “Epic Mommy Failure Moment

  1. im laughing at the absurdity of it all. Although i know at that moment it was the worst thing ever as I have been there many many times. I have more epic mummy fails then i can possibly write down, Good thing is you can laugh looking back, i’m still trying to …:o)

Leave a Reply

